3

Error message in SSMS



At first, I am not interested about database system. That’s why I chose Multimedia Interactive as my interest subject. In the past, I thought that I must do what I love. For now, I must learn database because it’s for my essay. I made an urgent decision. I just think that I must love what I do for my success. I got some problem a few days ago in SSMS(SQL Server Management Studio). It happened when I forgot to make an auto increment atribute in a table. I’ll try to make a query with ALTER COLUMN syntax for modification but it failed. Oh my God, I didn’t know about the solution so I’ll try to make right click at the atributte in table to modify. I set the IDENTITY for auto increment ID. When I tried to save it, It displayed a box dialog. Saving changes isn’t permitted.

Capture

Holly shit, I can’t change it. What should I do? DROP the table and CREATE again? It’s impossible. It just wasting time if I do that. I searched, searched, and searched until I found the solution about this problem. Finally, I got the solution from this : https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/956176

The are 3 ways to Prevent saving changes that require the table re-creation. 

  1. In SSMS, click Options on the Tools menu.

Screenshot 2015-10-26 21.11.12

  1. In the navigation pane of the Options window, click Designers.

2

3. Select or clear the Prevent saving changes that require the table re-creation check box, and then click OK.

3

Ta-dah, I can modify my ID atribute to an auto increment and can save it today. Now, I can continue my essay and this case is closed.

Leave a Reply

